Review: Man-Made and Natural Music Merge on a Steamy Sunday

3rd July, 2018

“On Saturday evening, Caramoor presented a more traditional event: a splendid concert by the festival’s resident Orchestra of St. Luke’s in the open-air Venetian Theater. The conductor Ludovic Morlot, departing next year as the music director of the thriving Seattle Symphony, began with a bracing account of Smetana’s ‘Dance of the Comedians.’ ”


3 July 2018
Anthony Tommasini / The New York Times

Read More

Seattle Symphony Nominated for Orchestra of the Year Award by Gramophone

2nd July, 2018

The Seattle Symphony is one of eight international ensembles nominated for the Orchestra of the Year Award, a new award that recognizes the artistic excellence of an ensemble. Compiled by Gramophone’s editors and critics, finalists were chosen from recordings made from June 2017 through May 2018. The winner will be voted on by the general public.

Read More

Review: Seattle Symphony Celebrates Centenary with Bernstein Extravaganza

17th June, 2018

“Morlot rendered the vibrant score with both energy and tenderness, bringing out the sentimentality of the big band tunes, punching out the rhythmic syncopations, and plumbing the orchestra’s full potential for maximum sound. . . . It doesn’t get more American and Broadway than this, and the SSO demonstrated their ability to swing these very American scores to the rafters of Benaroya Hall.”


17 June 2018
Erica Miner / Broadway World

Read More